[ Anime ] : Mononoke Hime

“You say you’re under a curse? So what? So’s the whole damn world.”

Princess_Mononoke_Japanese

The story starts with Ashitaka, the last prince of Emishi protects his village from a tatari-gami. Ashitaka kills the demon before it reaches the village, but unfortunately the demon give a curse to his right arm. The curse gives him a superhuman fighting ability but it will kill him soon. The village’s wise woman tells Ashitaka to find the cure to the west and see with eyes unclouded by hatred.

Heading to the west, Ashitaka meets Jigo, a monk who tells him to ask for a help from Shishigami, the giant deer who called The Forest Spirit. After saving life of two man who found injured in a river, Ashitaka meets San and her wolf clan. Ashitaka greets them, but being ignored. He brings the two man to an Irontown led by Lady Eboshi.

Ashitaka learns that Lady Eboshi built the Irontown by cutting the trees and make a conflict with the forest gods. The town is a refuge for social outcasts, including former brothel workers and lepers, whom Eboshi employs to manufacture firearms to defend against the gods. Ashitaka also finds out that Eboshi is responsible for turning Nago -the god who attacked Ashitaka’s village- into demon. Eboshi explains that San -the girl who lives with wolf clan- has a deep hatred to humankind and wants to kill Eboshi.

Soon after that San infiltrates the Irontown to kill Eboshi, but Ashitaka intervenes and makes them unconscious. A woman who her husband killed by a wolf shots Ashitaka and makes him bleeding but the curse holds him from dead. He leaves the Irontown with San and falls into unconsciousness because of the wound. San tries to kill him, but she stops it after Ashitaka call her ‘beautiful’ in his unconsciousness. San brings Ashitaka to the forest of Shishigami and starts to develop a deep feeling for him after the god saves his life. Ashitaka awakes and recognizes that the curse still exist.

Meanwhile, a boar clan led by Okkoto attack Irontown. Eboshi prepares for the battle and conspires with Jigo, who revealed to be a mecenary, to kill The Forest Spirit and give his head to the Emperor of Japan. According to legend, the god’s head can give immortality. San, who still have strong hatred over human wants to save Okkoto, The Forest Spirit and the forest itself while Ashitaka wants to stop the conflict between humankind and forest.

The film impresses me extremely. It affects me and leaves a strong memory. I have watched it several times and it still give me goosebumps. First time I watched it was in middle of a night. At first I felt a little bit afraid of the sounds from the forest where Nago being corrupted by iron from gunshot. But after some minutes, I felt better and can continued watching. Seeing the scenes, learning the story, and developing feeling for the characters; made me cry after the film ended. I can shouted boldly that I fall in love with this film T_T

Ashitaka, who is so tough, brave, and tender really touches me. San, with her ‘beautiful hatred’ also impresses me and gives me a chill everytime I remember her. I feel sorry for her, but also envy of her struggle for the forest. Even Lady Eboshi, who most people hates her because of her greed for power and wealth, I can understand her. What she has done to the people with lepers and poverty moves me. She helps them, gives prosperity and cheerfulness to their life. Actually I hate Jigo, but soon after I realize that he wants kill the forest spirit to protects his people, I can feel ‘really ok’ of him. And then I learn that Miyazaki made the characters as human as they are. I can’t say it better than that.

The central theme which is about relationship between humankind and earth really moves me. It’s really sad to know that human evolves and becomes more prosperous, but not the earth. It hurts from time to time because of human’s greed. I wish I can do something to at least not giving extra suffer to the earth. I wish we could live peacefully without harming the environment.

The film sountracks that composed by Joe Hisaishi are genius. They give extra ammunisions to shot me and make me die hundred times everytime I hear them. And the ending, it makes me sad at first and then I feel pleased later. It’s so touchy. I feel so warm inside. Yes, inside. Here.

source: wiki

Leave a Reply

